While I wait for the bathroom floor to dry so I can finish up in there, I am going to squeeze in some time to write my monthly blog entry.  I’m expecting company this next week and am busy Friday, Saturday, and Sunday so must get everything ready today, tomorrow, and Thursday which includes cleaning, freshening up the bedding, planning the menu, and buying the groceries.  Has anybody else’s summer seemed busier than usual?  LOL

During the month of July, we celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary, Independence Day, spent two days in Wichita, Kansas, watching our granddaughter play basketball, and most of the other weekends watching our grandson play golf in addition to all of our usual activities caring for my sister and her husband who have some challenges and my aging parents who need our help more and more.  We also gathered garden produce, put up what we will need for the winter, and gave away the rest.  Yep; summers are busy.

In spite of all this extra activity, I did finish the first of the Jacob’s Ladder quilts that I have been working on since January.  It is a monster of a king-sized quilt!  Took up most of my 12′ long quilting frame.  The quilt top measured 110″ across.  That was 9 blocks.  The length is shorter with only 8 blocks.

IMG_7248

Here is a closeup of the quilting.

IMG_7249

I am very pleased with the amount of drop it has when placed on my king-size bed.

IMG_7254

I even played around with my embroidery  machine and some free software from Imbrilliance.  And, yes, I agree that I need to play around with it some more.  This label is far from perfect but does get the message across.

IMG_7253

In my spare time (LOL), I decided it was time to do something with the ugly sides of my planning wall.  So I took it from this

IMG_7246

to this!

IMG_7247

And it was so easy.  I had been planning on doing it for almost four years.  Took me all of a half hour just using fabric, pins, and a butter knife to push the fabric behind the frame.  What a difference.

And since I finished the Jacob’s Ladder quilt with three days left in the month, I started a crocheted doll cardigan in bright pink.  I got the bulk of it done.  Just have the sleeves, edge trim, and collar left to do.  Hopefully I will have enough time to get it finished during August although one week will be spent with company and another is reserved for my follow-up colonoscopy.  That only leaves two weeks.  Yikes!  But one can still hope, can’t they?

Happy Crafting,

Lana

