Wow!  Already July 5, and I’m just now getting to this blog post.  Where is the time going?

It doesn’t seem like I got as much accomplished in June, but I do have an excuse.  My husband and I both had colonoscopies in June.  His was okay, but my doctor called me the poster child for why people should have regular colonoscopies.  My first one was 11 1/2 years ago at which time my doctor removed a few small polyps.  I had another the next year which was clear, so it was recommended I have another in 5 years.  When I called 5 years later to make an appointment, I was informed by the nurse that I didn’t need to have one for another 5 years.  Bad advice.  I should have insisted because this time I had a polyp so large that it had to be removed in pieces, and I have to go back in August for another colonoscopy to make sure he got it all and that it healed nicely.  I’m pretty sure doc is going to highly recommend that I have one more often than every 10 years from now on.  Good news is that there was no cancer.  If you, my friend, have not had a colonoscopy, I highly recommend that you not put it off any longer.  It may save your life.

Now for the good things I accomplished in spite of all this doctor activity for the month.  I finished 36 Jacob Ladder blocks this month which brings me to the 216 blocks needed for the 3 king-size quilts that I am making.

June blocks

And here is the layout with 72 blocks which are all different.  I did move 5 or 6 blocks after this picture was taken, and I couldn’t get all of the blocks in the picture.

IMG_7244

I am sooooooooo glad that all of the blocks are made and I can start sewing them together.

Now for the smaller things that I did in June:

  1. I replaced an eye and added a mane to the zebra backpack I made for my niece.  I’m looking forward to seeing her reaction when she opens her gift.
  2. I was showing my sister the Bowtie quilt that I added appliques to in order to hide imperfections.  She very quickly saw another seam that had come apart.  So I added another flower applique to the quilt.
  3. Since I am built pretty much straight up and down, when I buy a pair of jeans that fit me in the hips, the waist is too tight.  And if I buy them to fit in the waist, the hips are way too big.  I bought a pair of white jeans at a thrift store which I love, but the waist has always been too tight.  So I enlarged the waist in them to make them more comfortable.  Fortunately I had some white denim shorts that were way too small for me which I cut pieces from to use.  The operation was a great success.  I can now wear these white jeans in comfort.
  4. I finished one, yes, only one, quad Log Cabin block.
  5. Flower block I worked on my Teddy bear.  I got the head sewn and stuffed and the eyes attached.  I am ready to sew on the ears.
  6. I remade a window curtain for my granddaughter so that it would fit a window on a door in her new bedroom.

Hopefully I will get more done in July although the month is full of celebrations such as Independence Day, mine and my husband’s 49th wedding anniversary, great-granddaughter’s birthday, and great-niece’s birthday.  Lots of parties and cakes.  Hope my white jeans still fit at the end of the month.  LOL

Happy Crafting,

Lana

