For any new visitors, my monthly goal for each month for the first 6 months of 2017 is to make 36 Jacob’s Ladder blocks – 12 sets of 3 identical blocks each month.  Instead of making 9 blocks each week this month as I did for the first 4 months, I thought I would try making all 36 at once.  I didn’t like doing it this way.  Made it feel as though I was never going to finish them.  I had trouble gauging if I was keeping up a good pace in order to complete them by the end of the month.  I need smaller/shorter goals.  So for the month of June, I will go back to making 9 blocks per week.  Anybody else need to break up bigger chunks of work into small pieces in order to feel like you are actually accomplishing something?

Here are the blocks I finally completed for May:

IMG_7236

I finished them with only 5 days left in the month to work on other projects.  First up was to cut off 3 pairs of jeans and hem them to capri length for my sister.  Mission accomplished.  I was very pleased with how my Janome 6600 handled the thick denim.

And I did squeeze in enough time to make 2 quad Log Cabin blocks:

IMG_7241

After working on all these blocks all month, I wanted to do something fun.  So I made an American Girl sized backpack for my great-niece’s birthday coming up in July.

IMG_7237

Isn’t it just the cutest thing?!!!  I have to say that it was probably the most difficult sewing project I’ve ever worked on.  It is supposed to have fringe between the ears to represent the mane, but I needed a break from it after I got it to this point.  I have plenty of time to make the mane.

And with still a couple of days in the month left, I decided to dress one of my half dolls using a couple of my vintage hankies.  Since the half doll is only 2 inches tall, the work was a bit tedious but worth the effort.  I’m very pleased with the result.

IMG_7239

IMG_7240

After adding the base and skirt, she is now approximately 8 inches tall.

Have you ever felt you didn’t get much done and then listed everything and realized you did more than you thought?  Me, too!  LOL

Happy Crafting,

Lana

