Staying true to my goals for January (easy to do when just starting out), I completed three Jacob’s Ladder blocks yesterday.

img_7068

Only 42 more to go for the month.  I have decided that 100 blocks per quilt will be too many (see previous post).  It would make it 120″ x 120″.  That is a very large quilt.  The suggested size quilt for a king-size bed is 108″ x 95″.  That would be 9 x 8 blocks which is only 72 blocks.  That will also accommodate the king-size bats much better and the wide backings.  So the demand just went down.  I guarantee ya that I’m not a bit upset about that.  LOL

This morning I made the four tiny Log Cabin blocks and sewed them together to form a single block which measures 5″ unfinished.  Yep, each tiny Log Cabin block finishes at 2 1/4″.  There is a center and 12 logs in each one.  I guess you could say I’m a glutton for punishment, but I’ve always enjoyed working with tiny things.  After all, I did teach myself to sew on Barbie doll clothes at age 13.  Yikes!  Here is a picture of it bigger than life.

img_7070

I’ve already pulled the fabric for the next four blocks.  I’m hoping to finish them by the end of the week.

Now I’m off to see about loading a quilt on the longarm.

Happy Quilting,

Lana

