Sometime during my twenties way back in the 70s, I started a quilt using a simple Maple Leaf block pattern.  I had read that museum quality quilts were hand pieced and hand quilted.  So I was determined that I was going to make a museum quality quilt.  Oh, did I mention that this was to be my first quilt ever.

Thirty-five to forty years later, I had hand sewn each and every piece together with a 9″ plain white muslin block between each Maple Leaf block giving it a checkerboard look.  There were 99 blocks in all.

So now it’s time to quilt it.   But…….there…….is a problem.  What, pray tell, is the problem you might ask.  Well, I simply do not like this quilt top.  I guess I did when I started it, but it is boring.  All the Maple leaves are turned the same direction.  Somehow I got all the brown leaves together, all the red leaves together, all the yellow leaves together……Well, you get the picture.  What was I thinking?!!

So today in about an hours time, I reduced my quilt top to this.

IMG_6834

Yep, that’s all the blocks separated by colorways into eight stacks.  Wish I had taken a picture before I took it apart.  Oh, well.  So now where do I go from here.  Pinterest seems like a good place to start and did give me some inspiration for these blocks.

I am making two throws – one for my husband and one for me – that will adorn our recliners during the Fall season.  Each throw will have 18 Maple Leaf blocks in it.  Here is the layout.

IMG_6837

Oh, did I mention that I already know how I will be quilting this one?  I usually make the quilt top, put it on my longarm, and stare at it for a few days before I know how I want to quilt it.  So this is a first for me.  No, not taking a quilt top apart to remake it.  I’ve done that before.  It is the first time I know how it will be quilted before I get the top put together.  I would show you a picture of the quilting, but the picture is copyrighted so can’t do that.  So you will have to tune in here at a later date to see.

Until then,

Lana

