Here is a picture of my grandmother’s quilt top.

IMG_6006As you can see she did the appliques diagonally across the block.  I would have expected them to be put into a quilt top on point.  There is also a lot, a whole lot of white background.  Some quilter’s may have loved having all that back ground to fill with quilting, but I didn’t have a clue what to do with it.

One day while looking through a rather old quilting magazine, I ran across a picture of a little quilt with only four blocks.  Two Sunbonnet Sues and two Overall Bills surrounded by sashing and then a couple of borders.  But this simple little quilt gave me the idea of making four smaller quilts from Nanny’s quilt top.  And being one who likes to have a complete plan, I started searching for quilting design ideas.  My go to is Pinterest.  Click here to see what I found.

Okay.  Now I have a plan.  But remember that the appliques were diagonal, so I had to cut them down.  And in some cases I had to sew some background fabric onto a corner.  I ended up with 10 1/2″ blocks which would finish at 10″.  Perfect for making 25-patch blocks.  All I needed were a whole bunch of scraps from which to cut 2 1/2″ squares.  I had fabric strewn all over my sewing room for several days while cutting all these squares.  I also had to cut lots of 2 1/2″ squares from the background fabric.  Did I say that this background fabric was flour sacks?  I didn’t quite have enough but did have some from a previous quilt that I had refurbished.  Yay!  I’m on a roll.

After picking up all the fabric I had all over the place, I started sewing.  It went fairly quickly.  Then I designed the embroidery for the other block I needed for the quilts and started embroidering.  I showed you part of the quilting in the previous post.  Here are two of the quilts completed.

IMG_6450 IMG_6453

If you have inherited a quilt top and don’t know what to do with it, make something else out of it.  It’s okay.  It’s yours now.  Enjoy it.

Happy quilting,

Lana

