It’s October!  The month for fun costumes and trick or treating.  I started making costumes for my girls in September as a sew-along with one of my Yahoo groups, SGOTs_American Girl Doll Group.  We have a lot of fun creating for our 18″ dolls.

My goal was to make five costumes but only completed two so far.  The third one is almost complete, the fourth one is cut out, and the fifth one is still swimming around in my head.

IMG_6415IMG_6430IMG_6428

Nikki chose the spookiest costume.  She saw the pattern for this skeleton costume on the Many Small Friends website.  The tutorial and pattern can be found here.

Pansy was very excited when she found the pattern for her leopard costume on Wren Feathers blog.  Scroll down the page a bit to find the picture of the tiger and bear and follow the instructions for getting the pattern.  Jen designed her pattern for stretchy type fabrics, but I used leftover drapery fabric for Pansy’s costume.  Since the fabric was firmly woven, I had to make a few adjustments such as not attaching the hood to the body of the costume.  I also had to add 1 1/2 inches to the front of the hood as Pansy’s head is a bit larger than the American Girl.  It is the molded hair.  I would also lengthen the legs for an American Girl doll as Pansy is only 17″ and the costume was almost too short for her.

I am currently working on two other costumes from Jen Wrenne’s animal costume pattern – a lion and a tiger.  The lion costume is for Daisy, and the tiger costume is for Lily.  Maggie wants to be a witch but a pretty witch.  Still working this one out in my head.  I will do my best to finish the last three costumes and do an update before the end of the month.

Happy Halloween,

Lana, Daisy, Lily, Maggie, Nikki, and Pansy

