Part II: Crocheting the Sweater the First Time Through

So the crochet stitch pattern, the crochet hook size, and the thread have been chosen. I first went through my stash of crochet hooks to find the one size D that I own. When my sister tested my first sweater pattern, she had to buy a size D. She went to Hancock’s and Joanne’s with no luck and was about to give up when I found it online at Walmart. So she went to Walmart and bought it there. Now why didn’t the needlecraft stores have it? But I digress. Now to dig out all the Perle Cotton thread in that pretty wine color. I hope I have enough.

Can I use my first pattern as a starting point? Well, let’s give it a try. Here is how it went.

Eight rows into the sweater I realize I’ve dropped a couple of stitches. But where? And how far back will I have to rip? Arrrrrgh! Four rows back! Why didn’t I catch this sooner? And Nikki is wanting to know when her sweater is going to be done. Every 5 minutes she is asking if it is done yet. I’m working on it Nikki. Be a good little doll and go play with Daisy and Pansy.

So now that more than half  the sweater is ripped back to just before I made my first mistake, and I re-crochet the next four rows. Then row nine and I think this is where I want to change things up a bit. Started with the new crochet stitch pattern, and things are looking really good until……Oh, man, I don’t have enough stitches for my pattern! But I counted!! What went wrong? Double Arrrrrrgh! I needed one more stitch. Well, this is just a first run so that I will know where to make adjustments I tell myself. And so I cheat a little on the pattern so I can continue – only I will know.

After writing a note on my pattern of the change I need to make, I finish the sweater and barely have enough thread. Whew! Now to make something for Nikki to wear with the sweater. How about some leggings and a tank top? Do I have a pattern? No. So to the internet I go. After a google search, I have both of those patterns and a tutorial for making the cutest ruffled skirt.

I need knit fabric for the outfit. Surely I have some somewhere. Searching. Searching. Oh, hey! Why not use those old t-shirts I stashed away for making t-shirt yarn? Here’s a deep forest green. That’ll work! Cutting. Sewing. Searching for the Velcro. Cutting. Sewing. Done!

Hey, Nikki, come try on your new outfit. What do you think?

IMG_6158

Nikki, stop jumping on the bed!

The second time through on this sweater is coming soon.  Maybe I’ll get the count right this time.

Lana, Daisy, Pansy and Nikki

