Yes, come July my first great grandchild will make her (yes, it’s a girl) debut; and, no, I am not old enough to be a great grandmother. LOL The sweet little mother-to-be showed me pictures of her dream baby room that she is trying to make happen on very meager funds. She is very resourceful and talented, and with the help of loving family and friends, it will happen. My part will be a baby quilt.

The colors for the baby’s room will be medium teal, black, white, and metallic gold. It is quite modern looking with black and white chevron and graphic designs. I first chose a quilt design from the January/February 2015 issue of McCall’s Quilting magazine called Silhouette Stars. Then I spent three wonderful hours in fabric stores choosing just the right fabrics for this my first great granddaughter’s quilt. Here are the fabrics I chose:

IMG_6132

There will be four black and white blocks and five teal and white blocks. There will be white sashing with teal corner blocks, and the backing and binding will be teal. I’ve completed one of the black and white blocks which went together very quickly and was very forgiving of any seams that did not match up exactly. I am very pleased with it.

IMG_6133

I’ll add pictures of other blocks as I complete them.

Happy Quilting,

Lana

