Part I: Auditioning Crochet Stitch Patterns Don’t you just love those sketches in the crochet books that represent a crochet stitch pattern? That question was asked with more than a hint of sarcasm. Could you tell?  LOL  I guess I could invest in a crochet encyclopedia that had pictures of actual pieces of crochet work in each pattern. But even that would not be very helpful because the choice of thread and size of crochet hook can make a huge difference in how the piece looks. I have been crocheting small swatches of different stitch patterns today in order to get a better idea of how each might work in a sweater for 18” dolls such as American Girl. Here are the swatches I’ve crocheted so far:IMG_6117 IMG_6118 top one IMG_6118 bottom one The first two were done with baby yarn and the last one is crochet thread.  All were done with the same size hook.  The last two are actually the same pattern. Perfect example of how different a crocheted piece can look when done in different threads or yarns. Different size hooks can make them look different as well. Which one did I choose?  The last one!  I wanted something lacy that looked difficult to do but, in fact, is easy.  I can’t wait to see how it works out.

