I spent my week in Centerview, Missouri, at Hunter Heirloom Quilting taking some classes.  The first day, my hubby and I joined a few other people to learn how to maintain our Innova longarms.  The class was taught by Joe Hunter.  I already knew the first few items he covered but learned a lot after he got past those.  Hope my hubby picked up on things I may have missed.  That was the whole idea behind having him go with me.

The next day I took my first ever quilting class entitled “Taming the FMQ Fear, Part 1”.  Since I got my longarm last May, I have done pantographs and ruler work mostly with a little free motion quilting (FMQ) thrown in.  But the FMQ scared me because I was having trouble deciding where I needed to go next.  Indecision can paralyze.   I especially feared stippling.  I still don’t care for stippling but found that there are alternatives that are much more fun to do.  I not only overcame my fear, I began to improvise and create my own patterns.  I especially like the rose pattern and one of the leaf patterns we learned.

Leaf Meandering Pattern

While doing the rose pattern, there was a little hip swinging motion going on.  LOL  It was a lot of fun.

Rose Meandering Pattern

The last block that we quilted, we were encouraged to make up our own meandering pattern.  I chose to mix the leaf pattern and the rose pattern.  I was very pleased with the result and plan to use it on a future quilt.

Rose and Leaf Meandering Pattern

Hope you also had a good week doing something you love to do.

Lana

